Stand With Steve

Home » Addictions » Relapse

Relapse

Stand With Steve

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,804 other followers

Archives

Categories

FREE SUCCESS ADVISORY SESSION


Why do people keep relapsing?

Over the years I often wondered why some people got sober and I kept relapsing over and over. I finally figured out why I kept doing it and the answer was very simple!

I WASN’T READY TO QUIT!

Whenever you try to quit doing something in life no matter what it is if you are not 100% ready to give it up most likely you will not give it up, no matter how much pain or how much you loose in the process of doing it the fact of the matter is if you are not ready then you are not ready!

Even today I struggle with stuff in my life and it always boils down to the fact I am not ready to do it.

The weird thing is when you are 100% ready to do something it is so easy to do. Think about a time you wanted to do something in life and you set out to do it ~

I bet you found yourself really excited and ready to go everyday no matter what and eventually you found yourself seeing the fruit of your labor right?

Now what about when you want to do something in life and you are not sure if you really want to do it or not. I bet you find yourself struggling with it and not very motivated at all right?

You bet the simple reason is YOU are not 100% emotionally attached to doing what you think you want to do. The difference between thinking and actually wanting to do something is usually the emotion you attach to it.

Emotion is the most powerful tool we as humans have in our lives and it can make or break us.

Take away the emotion and it just seems like a chore that has to be done and so we really don’t care too much about getting it done. That is why when a person falls in Love they go above and beyond the call of duty and they have a feeling that is so great no matter who you are you will over come any obstacle in life simply because of that one emotion.

The bottom line is when you Love yourself and want to make a change in your life you will do whatever it takes to make that change and when you get to that point in life it happens in an instant not a life time!

Getting to that point in life is what takes time, when you arrive at that point in life chances are you will never relapse again!

Try it and see what happens!


2 Comments

  1. Dave F says:

    HOW TRUE IT IS!!!! Thanks for the message Steve!! I want to say Thank You. We talked on the phone early last week after I found your site and watched everyone in St Louis ‘Stand With Steve’. My life hasn’t been the same since. I’m no longer Stuck on or Addicted to my story. With your help I was able to do my 4th Step in a way that no one else has ever suggested. It was exactly what I needed. Now that old story is outta my head, outta my heart and in a pad of paper. I’m FREE!!! It is so liberating to be free of the shackles of that old story. “I will not regret the past nor wish to shut the door on it” and now I realize that Promise is coming true for me…because I was re-living my past in my head everyday all day. Now I don’t regret it, I know it happened, it is what it is, and now I’m given the opportunity to write a whole new story everyday I wake up.
    Thanks man, I’ll talk to you soon.

    St. Louis Dave

    • So glad to hear you are free from it like I was! Now all you have to do is just keep on keeping on and freely give it away too! Thank You for Calling! You taught me a lot too!
      Steve

Leave a Reply

Book Online Button

 Book Life Coaching from Life Class Coaching in Moreno Valley Ca

Follow me on Twitter

